gday from australia

davexs650

XS650 New Member
Reaction score
gday fellas,dave here from the gold coast in australia,i dont have a 650 yet only because they are bloody expensive here so am hoping to find one eventually,,i do have a cb550 four ive rebuilt,im a mechanic/truck driver and am well equipped for most jobs,a guy i know just found a 76 for a grand that runs but needs tlc and his just flipping it for 3000!have a look on aussie ebay at the stupid prices of these things.

welcome aboard dave,keep looking and you will find one for the right price.but your right about the prices,they look at ebay with out realising a lot of them are at asking price only and dont actualy sell or attract a bid,had a bloke ask me for a price opinon the other day on a 79 model with unfinished home made wiring,compleate but nowhere near original, rusty exhaust bald tyres etc etc who then got upset when i wouldnt agree it was worth 5-5 1/2 thou.good luck with the hunt because they are out there and worth the effort

Welcome davexs650 - and yes, looks like you should look in the bargain basement. So, XS650s have taken off in Australia, or are they just rare?

Anlaf

gday anlaf,i wouldnt say rare,not as many as say cb750 fours though,theyve always been popular here,i like the early cb450 twin aswell,they command high prices for good ones,they have frailties i dont like though.

I have never visited Australia, but at I guess I would imagine you should be prepared to go a few miles to pick one up.

According to my School Altas Australia is not that big - it takes up the whole of page 36, and England is on pages 3 and 4, so it shouldn't be too bad nipping from say the village of Sydney to, where now? ah! yes, Darwin. Return journey couple of hours including lunch, back home in time for tea.

Anlaf