Will this welder to the job?

alxire

XS650 Enthusiast
Reaction score
Just bought a brat kit from Visual Impact and I'm thinking about picking this welder up from Harbor Freight if it will do the job?

Can someone drop some knowledge on me?

http://www.harborfreight.com/90-amp-flux-wire-welder-68887-8494.html

ps- I know how to weld just don't know d*&k about what size of welder I need, or even if a wire feed is the right tool for the job.... I can mig, tig, arc and wirefeed so if someone could help a brother out with some suggestions it would be much appreciated

I'm a pipe welder and I would not use that welder. I dont think u can evin hook gas up to that machine so u can only use the inner sheild wire. U can get a Lincoln from home depot for around 500 with the gas set up but those machine only have 5 heat settings. I think u can get a miller or Lincoln with infanit heat settings for around 700 or 800

I bought a Miller 135 with cart, pressure reg and 25 cu/ft cylinder of gas from my local welding supply house for less than $700. I've used Lincolns, Hobarts, Camp/Hausfield and some other no-name (all 120v), the Miller is by far the best.

You want to TIG anything on your frame (and anywhere else) if you have the skills and tools to do the job.

I find it odd that someone who says they can TIG weld is even asking this question. A 90amp flux core welder would make a good doorstop.

I have a 180amp Lincoln MIG setup with C25 gas that I use to weld the odd bracket onto my bike. Friends of mine weld brackets and stuff onto frames with a 140amp 120v MIG setup.

For structurally important stuff I take my frame to a pro who does TIG all day, all week.

Hey guys,

Thanks for the info, looks like i should reconsider. But keep in mind i don't have all the tools and resources to use top of the line stuff. also keep in mind i don't want to farm all of the work out ie i want to do it myself. are there such things as community garages/shops?