1977 XS650 Pet Cock is not being a good Pet

Yamaha77

Banned
Reaction score
So , I pulled out my my 77 yamaha xs650 :pictured below, after not riding it for a few weeks (I have other bikes). I noticed every time i turn on the right petcock. i get gas on my hands. I assume I have a leaking petcock? Im fairly new to bikes, though I have acquired a few in a short time, and am wondering, do I just go to MikesXS and buy a new petcock? And whats involved in swapping it out on the right side?

Thanks!

IMG_2150.JPG

You may not need a complete new petcock, just some replacement parts. There is a rubber disc in there behind the arm that it seals against. That's the usual suspect. If you get lucky, sometimes you can just flip the disc over, facing the unused unworn back side out, and it will seal again. This part is still available from Yamaha and I recommend you get it there. The MikesXS rubber stuff has a poor reputation.

http://www.boats.net/parts/search/Yamaha/Motorcycle/1977/XS650D/FUEL TANK XS650D/parts.html

http://www.boats.net/parts/detail/yamaha/Y-137-24523-00-00.html

You may not need a complete new petcock, just some replacement parts. There is a rubber disc in there behind the arm that it seals against. That's the usual suspect. If you get lucky, sometimes you can just flip the disc over, facing the unused unworn back side out, and it will seal again. This part is still available from Yamaha and I recommend you get it there. The MikesXS rubber stuff has a poor reputation.

http://www.boats.net/parts/search/Yamaha/Motorcycle/1977/XS650D/FUEL TANK XS650D/parts.html

http://www.boats.net/parts/detail/yamaha/Y-137-24523-00-00.html

Ive heard I can run just one petcock in the meantime?