3 year bottom end knocking problem finally fixed, u will be surprised!!

XS650D

XS650 Junkie
Reaction score
Well,i have been posting about this for a few years now but have been putting it of as the knocking finally goes away after a good warm up BUT it has still bothered me.I knew something wes not rite and if I left it alone long enough it would cost me big!. I honestly though it was related to cam chain guide probably fell apart
and was all ready to pull the motor and rip into it.But the engine and bike is running so good I didn't want to touch. Well it finally got the better of me and the knocking was getting louder and lasting longer before quieting down. I decided after some thought to take the bike to a Yamaha guy that has been around these
bikes before and had good knowledge on the inner workings of the motor ect.Well dropped off over day and
first thing out of his mouth is whats with the after market oil filter cooler (Heiden Tuning unit). I explained it was on bike when I purchased. He had concerns about it rite away and proceed to check oil and pressure
and found that the stock filter that comes with the Heiden unit stock was way to restrictive and the cold thick
oil couldent get thru quick enough and something inside the motor (were not sure what) was not getting enough lube quick enough and cried out. Hopefully not crank bearings but possible I guess, maybe the
left side end bearing as the bike would quieting down if on side stand somewhat.Regardless after pulling the filter and tearing off the paper and reinstalling the bike was totally quiet now from a cold start!!
I have since ordered a SS filter ( 35/40 micron) which should allow lots of flow like the Yamaha engineers
designed the engine for. Others may have had good luck with this unit but not on my bike.