Broken oil dipstick - need dimensions

jmcadoo

...SO...
Reaction score
New guy - recently reintroduced to the XS650 world. I had a 75 XS650, back in 75. Recently bought an 80 that had been garaged for 20years. I am not a mechanic, so I followed advice from many on this site and got it running. I had forgotten how sweet sounding these bikes are!

My problem - The end of the dipstick is broken off. Instead of paying the $50 the local salvage yard wants, I believe I could easily crimp on a piece of copper tubing over the existing shaft, but I need to know where to put the minimum / maximum oil level marks. could someone tell me the length from the bottom of the dipstick threads to the minimum and maximum level marks?

Thank you,
Jeff

P.S. After I get it on the road, I plan on riding it stock for ayear or so, then change it to resemble this: http://www.xs650chopper.com/2010/04/gerrits-xs-addiction/#more-8125

Last edited:
$50! That's crazy! I you want, give me few bucks for shipping and I'll send you one.. otherwise, I can take some measurements when I get home.

I think he'll need to see the whole dipstick. Or know the measurement from the top and bottoms lines to the threads.

Wow! You guys are quick responders!

What I really need are the measurements from the bottom of the plastic threads (where the dipstick rests when checking oil level) to the min / max marks. (Mine is broken 8 3/16" from the bottom of the plastic threads. There is no flat part remaining.)

Jeff

Oops lol, didn't read carefully, here ya go. Camera distorts it a little but looks like its 10'' from the bottom of the dipstick to where it rests when screwed in. Off of a '79 btw.

Pandorasglocks,
From looking at your second photo, it looks like it is 8 1/4" from the bottom of the threads to the first mark on the flat part, and 8 15/16" to the second mark. Is that correct?

Jeff