cam chain tensioner copper washer ? anybody got one?

EvenmoreXS

1981 XS650
Reaction score
I need the copper washer that goes on the cam chain tensioner. I have tensioner type E in this photo. 80-84 type. Anybody got one or know where I can get one. Does it have to be a special material or can I get a thick copper washer from Fastenal?

Thanks.

Attachments

• CamChainTensioner.jpg
    CamChainTensioner.jpg
    36.1 KB · Views: 365
  • TensionerID.jpg
    TensionerID.jpg
    64.1 KB · Views: 252
Last edited:
Well, I would say that it is just a base plate for the tensioner spring, so if you can find similar with suitable measurements, I think it would be ok. But then again, I am just a beginner with the XS-machines, so maybe someone else knows better?

Pasi

Thanks Grinder. You sure this is for the right thing? No washer pictured or mentioned??? Looks like its the actual spring/shaft combo.?? Just want to be sure before I order something I already have.

Mike's has them PN- 18-0873 or still available from Yamaha.

I believe that part number is for the damper, not the washer.

From the illustration posted, it looks like what you call the washer, they call the Copper Lock Nut Gasket, #18-0872.

If you do a search on this topic, others have asked the same question and gotten answers.

I have the lock nut gasket, but not the Copper Washer. The gasket goes aginst the locknut, the washer goes between the spring and the treaded part of the assembly. In the pic, im looking for the smaller washer. It appears that this may be typical to be missing this part. It may be a regular washer or a thick washer Im not sure. Ive seen photos that suggest both. If any one knows , please. I will be going to fasten all tomorrow to see what they have in stock. Im concerned with the thickness if anyone knows it or can caliper it for me.

Thanks

Attachments

• Cam Chain Tensioner Parts.jpg
    Cam Chain Tensioner Parts.jpg
    7.9 KB · Views: 87