Free flow tapered muffler?

1980 xs650special

XS650 Member
Reaction score
Alright, so i'm pretty new to the xs world. Just bought my first this past summer, and focused on just getting it to be a reasonably reliable ride on a virtually non-existent budget.
Now I am starting to conceptualize some mods and am looking for some new mufflers. I like the look of the 'free flow, tapered tip' muffler from mike's.

Now just wondering if anyone has any suggestions or insights as to what I might encounter if I were to put these on a basically stock bike. I'm sure that I'll need to do some carb adjustment, but like I said i'm pretty green with this stuff...so any suggestions would be great!

Some pretty sweet bikes on this site, providing lots of inspiration! Keep it up!

Hi there,it sounds like you are getting on the right track contemplating new exhaust system.In my opinion by adding the tapered turbos (straight thru) mufflers you will get the best sound these bikes can produce.When I did my 650's this is one of the 1st things I changed along with installing K N air filters.by adding these 2 items the engine will be able to breathe.To prevent lean out I increased the main jet one size up by taking them out and going to my nearest carb place who usually drilled them while I wait,and at no charge,so it pays to shop local where possible.Another couple of items to look at are the tapered head stem bearings and bronze swing arm bushes.All of these items are available on here anyway.
To feel the difference as to what I'm talking about is ride the bike before making the changes and after.
Live To Ride
Ride To Live.