Getting it back on the road

awafan

XS650 Member
Reaction score
Hey Everyone. Noob here with a '72 XS650 completely original. I am going to get this thing back on the road. It happens to be a friend of mines and was last ridden in 97-98. I am sure I will have a ton of questions as I get into this bike.

I don't know very much about these bikes but have been reading and learning! Anyone care to give me some quick highlights? Suggestions, precautions, warnings all are welcome.

Where can I get a good service manual? Would prefer the Yamaha version and am not sure if I can get that through Yamaha.

Are parts in general available still from the dealer? I see ebay has some items. Most of what I am going to need is gaskets, cables, etc. The bike seems to be in pretty good form for sitting so long.

Thanks in advance!

Attachments

• 20140111_170906.jpg
    20140111_170906.jpg
    270.9 KB · Views: 113
Hey Everyone. Noob here with a '72 XS650 completely original. I am going to get this thing back on the road. It happens to be a friend of mines and was last ridden in 97-98. I am sure I will have a ton of questions as I get into this bike.

I don't know very much about these bikes but have been reading and learning! Anyone care to give me some quick highlights? Suggestions, precautions, warnings all are welcome.

Where can I get a good service manual? Would prefer the Yamaha version and am not sure if I can get that through Yamaha.

Are parts in general available still from the dealer? I see ebay has some items. Most of what I am going to need is gaskets, cables, etc. The bike seems to be in pretty good form for sitting so long.

Thanks in advance!

Nice find! I just got one too. Check out mikesxs.com they have lots of parts for these bikes! here's mine.

Attachments

• WP_000260.jpg
    WP_000260.jpg
    228.4 KB · Views: 142