How to Insure Bike without Odometer?

MF HectoOR

XS650 Member
Reaction score
Hi Guys, I'm new to the motorcycle world. :shrug:

I recently inquired a sweet modified 83 xs650 bobber/chopper, hardtailed, clean CA Title & registered. I have a title with matching frame although engine number doesn't match the title. Moving on...

I got the bike transferred to my name with no hitch even though the odometer reading was left blank since the mileage is not know nor does the bike have any gauges.

Now all i have left to do is insure the bike. I currently tried adding the bike to my AAA insurance policy but was told the bike could not be insured until a odometer reading is given so annual mileage is tracked.

How do the bobber/chopper riders get around this since i usually always see them with no gauges?:doh:

Attachments

• yami001.jpg
    yami001.jpg
    269.4 KB · Views: 149
That a weird request from an insurance company.....either a company thing or a Cali thing and definitely NOT the norm.

Ive insured everything with wheels - never once had any of my insurance companies ask for an odometer reading.

Ive used several companies throughout the years.

I guess you could stick a new odometer on it and tell them 0 miles......but Im thinking Id call Progressive......my bike policy is $75 a year.....and they dont ask for no stinkin' mileage.

Here in Washington, anything over 10 years old or 100k miles is exempt from odometer statements... so ask them wtf they do in our state up here? lol...

Thanks guys i'll go ahead and try to get a different insurance company for the bike is guess. Hopefully will be cheaper as well.

btw: I wouldn't even know where to start to hook a speedometer/odometer up. I'm sure the mechanism they hook up too has been removed. Thanks guys.

I've always been ask my odometer reading. They want to how often it's be on the road. Just lie. You don't have to take it in.