Just purchased a '70 have A LOT OF work ahead

Drew650

XS650 Enthusiast
Reaction score
Hey all,
I just purchased this beauty a few days ago and don't even have it home yet. I found this site and have been reading a lot. Thought I'd post a thread to see what maybe I should expect ahead of me.

1. Does not run currently, it did when put away 6 years ago (supposedly)
2. Complete for the most part just a few cosmetics.
3. Tank is clean and most of the lines look okay.
4. Transmission shifts at least between first neutral and 2nd just fine.

I'm going to do pretty much a full teardown but I've never done it before as this is also my first real bike. I have the basic mechanical skills, room, and time to take it on. I'm just looking for some advice to get me started or what to expect. Thanks on advanced!

Hoo-boy, a first year collectable.
First lesson: Difficult to find parts. And when you do, $$$$$.
Second lesson: Get the early service and parts manuals.
Third lesson: There were many revisions in that first year. Keep your serial number handy...

Ha ha... I was told it wouldn't be too hard to find parts. But I figured myself it would be. But thank you I will look into manuals today

Okay!!! I was way off I was told it's a '70 after running the serial, turns out it's a 79. I just learned this after doing hours of research on the 70's but I guess it's good news since I'm on a budget with parts. Already took the tank and seat off but I'll post some pics

uploadfromtaptalk1435262031075.jpguploadfromtaptalk1435262058997.jpg

welcome Drew650, Plastic air-box's, Tin topped BS34 carbs and rear mag wheel, disk brake, saz the bike is an 80SG. Factory Electronic Ignition, (TCI). ............Getting newer by the day

Make sure the spark plugs are ground to the motor when testing for spark, Lack of ground will blow the TCI unit, if it is still working.