Main Harness Wiring Question 1977 XS650D

MadHatch

XS650 Enthusiast
Reaction score
Hey guys,

I'm pulling the stock wiring diagram from the Tech Section for my 1977 XS650D, and I have a question. In the diagram it looks to have matching wires plug into mismatching wires in the hardness pictures below:

I'm new to wiring and am trying to follow this diagram to replace my stock harness with a new harness. However, it's odd to me that the colors could perfectly match up, however the diagram has the wires meeting with different colors. (i.e. B/Y to Y/R, instead of B/Y to B/Y.

I'm thinking or worried I may be reading the wiring diagram wrong.... when i should be matching the colors as opposed to plugging them to what it seems they line up with.

Photo of area I'm working on below, left hand controls to main harness:

Attachments

• Screenshot 2019-07-30 17.30.05.png
    Screenshot 2019-07-30 17.30.05.png
    44.3 KB · Views: 194
On Mike's harnesses there have been reports of mismatched wire colors in the plugs.
Sometimes the wire colors of replacement items have different color wires than stock.
You can check which wires do what by using a ohm meter to see what input wires go to which output wires.
Leo

Yes, there have been mistakes reported with some of the MikesXS replacement harnesses. For instance, my buddy put one on his '80 Special II and now the headlight comes on with the key. It's not supposed to do that, lol.

Here is a D wiring diagram that shows where the colours should be in the connectors...........I haven't done a match up with a bike, no a guarantee this is right, something to check against with your bike............would be nice if you can confirm and report back on here for reference

77D Supp Manual 22 crop 2.jpg
77D Supp Manual 22 crop 2.jpg