1. Dismiss Notice
  2. Hey Facebook people... We've created a group for XS650.com members to connect. Check it out!
    Dismiss Notice

My '80 xs650 engine rebuild

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by sseres, May 19, 2012.

1. sseres

sseres XS650 Junkie

after having been talked down from disassembling my working engine, a friend talked me into finding a dead engine to go nuts on. This is my first attempt at ever rebuilding anything bigger than my son's Star Wars Legos.

Within 1 hour of posting a wanted here in the forum, I got a note from someone not too far from here with what I was looking for. 100psi compression and dirtier than you can imagine. Very nice guy with amazing land and a hoist in his garage. Now that's an awesome tool!

So, anyway, here's the goal, and then I'll swap it out with the engine in my bike (the one that runs):

Clean, clean, clean, get it blasted then maybe paint?
    polish up covers
    new gaskets, rings and anything wornout looking.
    Rephase (planning on sending crank and cam shafts to Hugh)
    so this includes the 277 PAMCO system
    clutch screws replaced with Mike's hex bolts
    considering PMalternator (probably only if I can get someone to buy the old one)
    5th gear upgrade

Am I missing something?

Anyway, presenting... the engine!

[​IMG]

2. sseres

sseres XS650 Junkie

Here's what I accomplished today:

tappets look to be in excellent condition:

[​IMG]

Is it feasible to change the adjustment bolts so they are a little easier to use?

Top of the valves looks very clean:

[​IMG]

Here's the master link in the cam chain after I beat it silly with a chisel. I guess I didn't have the right tool...

[​IMG]

Valves look good, nice and charred and I don't even want to know what kind of evilness the old gasket there might have been made of:

[​IMG]

Sorry, this one's blurry. Pistons have a goodly amount of carbon scoring on them. These droids have seen a lot of action:

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]