My '80 xs650 engine rebuild

sseres

XS650 Junkie
Reaction score
after having been talked down from disassembling my working engine, a friend talked me into finding a dead engine to go nuts on. This is my first attempt at ever rebuilding anything bigger than my son's Star Wars Legos.

Within 1 hour of posting a wanted here in the forum, I got a note from someone not too far from here with what I was looking for. 100psi compression and dirtier than you can imagine. Very nice guy with amazing land and a hoist in his garage. Now that's an awesome tool!

So, anyway, here's the goal, and then I'll swap it out with the engine in my bike (the one that runs):

Clean, clean, clean, get it blasted then maybe paint?
polish up covers
new gaskets, rings and anything wornout looking.
Rephase (planning on sending crank and cam shafts to Hugh)
so this includes the 277 PAMCO system
clutch screws replaced with Mike's hex bolts
considering PMalternator (probably only if I can get someone to buy the old one)
5th gear upgrade

Am I missing something?

Anyway, presenting... the engine!

full

Here's what I accomplished today:

tappets look to be in excellent condition:

full

Is it feasible to change the adjustment bolts so they are a little easier to use?

Top of the valves looks very clean:

full

Here's the master link in the cam chain after I beat it silly with a chisel. I guess I didn't have the right tool...

full

Valves look good, nice and charred and I don't even want to know what kind of evilness the old gasket there might have been made of:

full

Sorry, this one's blurry. Pistons have a goodly amount of carbon scoring on them. These droids have seen a lot of action:

full

full

I think the cam chain tensioner is in good shape:

full

full

Cylinders look ok, at least to my eye.
full

This stunk... ALL 6 clutch screwheads were stripped out! Oh well. I got to buy a screw remover set from HF.
full

More to come! Time for wine with my wife on the porch.