New Owner Complicated Questions

PHeller

Erie, PA
Reaction score
This is my 3rd vintage bike. I had a CB360 that had carbs that scared me. I have/had a CB400F that taught me alot. I've also had a XT225 that taught me how to ride.

So I think I've finally figured out the beginners questions, so none of those.

however my recently purchased 1978 XS650 Standard is a new ballgame.

DSC_0328.jpg

I'm looking for headlight wiring, what colors am I working with? Most diagrams I see show yellow, black, and green, is that correct?

My bike has got 24,000 miles on it. How can I keep it going? Oil System Upgrade? Regular oil changes? I'm looking for preventative maintenance, but in the end...its got a few miles so I'll also be in the market for a spare engine.

Is there any cheap "must do" mods that I'm missing?

Hey there! Welcome to the XS world! I am fairly new to the XS' myself but have learned these motors are fairly bulletproof... I have read that regular maintainence will keep the motor running strong... Such as, oil changes, keep carbs synched, keep valves adjusted etc. You should also change your charging system as the stock one sucks! It WILL fail you... Search the tech section for lots of handy tips, tricks, and how to's.:thumbsup: Good Luck!

PHeller;

Welcome to the site. The 78 Standard is one of the best years in these bikes. I hope you would try to restore it to stock. These bikes were very well made, but now suffer from years of almost no maintenance. A stock type seat would really improve that bike.

Click on "Tech" at top of page..............go down to "Maintenance and General Troubleshooting"............click on "Buying Guide, getting to Know Your Bike"

The Search function at the upper right also works very well.

"Tech"............."Electrical".............."Wiring Diagrams" should be helpful.

Last edited:
I'll like keep the frame stock, but I'd like to go to lower bars, something similar to euro bars, but not clip-ons or drag bars.