Not getting spark, cant figure out why

Port

XS650 Addict
Reaction score
The bike is 1981 xs650 heritage special. I've got no sparks but the rest of the electrical system works. I installed new wiring harness because I didn't trust the old one, it wasn't in the best of shape. since then, I've been working through bpeckm's TCI ignition troubleshooting post but, now i'm stuck. There was a voltage drop at the red/white wire on the coil of about 1.2 v so I tested to see if there was a drop at the ignition switch plug, which there was. I cleaned the connections of the plug and the switch, they weren't that bad to begin with, but there was no change. These are the voltages from the ignition switch plug after cleaning.

Key off:
red - 12.53 v

Key on:
red - 11.44
brown - 11.29
blue - 11.28

What next? and after that? and after that?

Also, the casing of the coil is cracked in a few spots. I know this isn't good but i tested the windings and they are good. Plus, i'm a broke college student... Is this a bigger problem than i think it is?

Lastly, I've been considering closing off the side stand safety switch but, I can't figure out which wire it is. I can't, for the life of me, fine the wire leaving the side stand area, and can't find anything on line of one my wiring diagram that tells me where to find it or what color the wire is at the TCI plug.

bpeckm's post:
http://www.xs650.com/forum/showthread.php?t=24161

The 80 and 81 TCI boxes have 6 wires, the 82 up have 7 wires, this 7th wire is a second/black white wire. This second black/white wire goes to the side stand relay. Just unplug the side stand relay.
The side stand relay I think is on the right side. It has 4 wires, a blue/yellow, black, black/white and red/white.
This relay gets power on the R/W wire. With the side stand down, bike not in neutral, the relay gets energized and connects the B/W to the B wire, this grounds the B/W wire, stopping the TCI box from firing the coil.