Power to the regulator/rectifier, nothing to the coils...Need guidance.

jradvantage

XS650 Addict
Reaction score
Greetings,

I have 1978 650E with the regulator/rectifier combo unit.
I'm no expert, but a friend and I poked around to see why I'm not getting any spark to the plugs.

I have what appears to be a stock electrical set-up (points, condenser), save for the aftermarket regulator/rectifier combo and what appear to be newer looking coils in the stock mounting area. Checked all the wires to the coils (with the key "on") Nothing.

Checked the wires going to the regulator/rectifier (with the key "on"), and I have power. I don't appear to have any power coming out of the regulator/rectifier. So, I'm thinking the problem is the regulator/rectifier.

I would like to know if that's the problem, or if there is anything else I need to check.

I am NOT very handy with the electrical stuff, so any advice is much appreciated.

Thanks,
John

Fuse is good. I have headlights, blinkers, starter works, brake lights, horn...

Just no spark at the plugs. I have voltage at the connector that plugs into the connector from the regulator/rectifier, but no voltage in wires that connect top the coils.

Thanks for the replies.

Looks like the kill switch or the connection may be the issue.

According to the wiring diagram, the ignition coils get their power via the Red/White wire which comes from the kill switch.

I'll have to check out the kill switch in the morning and report back.

Thanks,
John

Kill switch looks pretty rough.

Will clean it up and try later.

In the meantime, would I be able to bypass the kill switch by connecting the two kill switch wires to each other? Still want to see if I can get some spark at the plugs.

Thanks,
John