Pulled the trigger - Intro and Build Thread!

Illiniwek650

XS650 Member
Reaction score
I'm really excited for this project and you guys are one of the main reasons why. I have been browsing the forum for about three years wanting to get an XS650, and yesterday I finally pulled the trigger on one!
full

A 1982 Heritage Special. Did my research, waited until winter, found some options, did my tests, and pulled the trigger. I won't be in town much this winter break, and have a decent semester coming up so this build won't be quick, but it should be fun, I'll try to update this thread every once in a while to keep it up to speed.

This is my first project so I'm sure there will be plenty of :banghead: and :doh: but I'm excited to learn a lot. This forum has already been immensely helpful in the purchasing of my bike, and I will attempt to give back what I can as I go (tutorials/etc, also will be ditching some of these parts so let me know if you're in need of anything)!

So lets get started (this will be mostly to keep my thoughts on track, but feel free to read/follow along! The more the merrier!)

The Steel Pony: Bike has great compression (~150psi) and at 3k RPM shows ~14V at the battery, so I think I have a good platform to start from. Exhaust was chopped by PO :shrug: so I am trying to decide what to do with that (buy a 2-1? weld on some extensions? try to just put a muffler on it?) I haven't browsed around here too much to find advice, but will be doing so today. I know it runs, but am going to go through it and clean it up before I try to fire it back up, might even wait until I figure out an exhaust plan before I try to tune anything; I'm under the assumption that it would be pointless to get it running decent with these chopped exhaust (would need to re-jet for that configuration which I don't plan on running?)? Any input on this area will be put to good use!

My end goal is..