Rephrase?

chizler62

XS650 Addict
Reaction score
I have no experience, other than hearing one, with a XS650 rephased motor. I have seen some pretty healthy claims of power gains that are out in left field. Although, its clear the XS650 community has "vendors" that are fabrictors in the shop and fabrictors in the story telling department. Ive seen claims that'd impress Walt Disney himself on some of their item descriptions. My experience with motors over the years smells marketing and not true performance.

Question is. Does anyone have dyno sheets? Can anyone back these outrageous claims of power gains?

IMO the XS650 was designed with a "vibration" intended. Part of the charm. I can see how the a rephased motor would reduce that if thats your desired intent. But I can not see any actual horsepower gain for the time and money.

Posted via Mobile

I can only add that I have had two bikes REPHRASED in my shop and I have rode and built many XS650 and there is a difference in vibration at 65 mph on a rephrased motor . Bike feels much better and the sound is a little different. I don't think I read that there is a gain in horsepower . Motors like TRIUMPH BSA NORTON were built like they were and had much vibration and the early YAMAHA-HONDA may have tried to copy that style. Early 450 Hondas have that vibration. I build a lot of race motors and you would have to do more to that crank to get a higher HP gain.
Me I like the vibration it has style and I don't use my XS650 as my 4 hour touring bike . I just like to boop around local with it. If it was my only bike maybe I would do it.

I have asked this question several times, there are several threads that cover this, depending on who gives the answers and what you read into this is the only answer you'll get, there seems to be no Dyno sheets with comparable engines,