Hard Tail comfort

here's my take on it.... 23psi in the rear tire.. NO rear suspension, NO seat springs, NO seat pad.. great bar hopper, great around town blaster, after about 45-50 miles---- STUPID!!!!!!! but that's just me.

Attachments

• AceOfSpades1.jpg
    AceOfSpades1.jpg
    38.9 KB · Views: 140
  • xs650.jpg
    xs650.jpg
    37.8 KB · Views: 151
Hi there, I totally prefer hardtails but in my case the objective is also about the lines im trying to achieve with whatever chop im building.
I have been riding hardtails since 1979.

It is not as bad as you may think, in fact on many reasonable surfaced roads you might not even notice the difference as the front suspension absorbs a lot. (you WILL notice potholes though, and if it too late to avoid then best to try take the weight of the seat by pushing down with your feet - unless you have fwd controls.. in which case you just have to suck it up ha ha..)

I dont like sprung seats either, and find with a seat made for rigid frames the handling 'feel' for the bike is improved. But then this is all a matter of preference.

I agree also about slightly lower pressure in the rear tyre. (I usually run a 16" rear and ..not low profile).

The idea about 'trialing' the idea using struts isnt a bad one and is a very quick and cheap way of doing that.

But if you're building a chop then - in my opinion - rigid is the only way to go.

cheers,
G.

Those who have mentioned the low pressure in the rear tire on hardtails are right. On my panhead, the manual says the proper pressure for the rear 5.00 x 16" tire is 16 PSI! At that pressure it absorbs a lot of the bumps. No, you cannot use a low profile tire. The rubber and air is what keeps you from getting a bent rim. I would never run low profile tires anyway. They look like something that belongs on a zoom-splat. Yeah, I know, it's a matter of taste. On my Indian I have a 3.75 x 18 on the rear. I run that at 25 PSI.