My first XS650! Looking for feedback on my purchase.

heritagespecial

XS650 New Member
Reaction score
Hi All,

And thanks for any and all warm welcomes to the forum! I have been riding for a few years, not many. I've had a couple bikes (Honda Rebel, Suzuki 650). I do a significant amount or work on my car so I am open and willing to do work on my XS650.
I am mostly wondering if I got a good deal on this bike.
SO.... on to the bike. I bought it for $550. It was in a neighbors garage and they were looking to get rid of it. It has a little over 5000 miles and it is in PRISTINE condition. Black, no rips in the seat, no scrapes, no rust! Paint looks impeccable. (Will post pictures when I get the chance) I mean, I don't have a ton of experience with older bikes but I'm thoroughly surprised at the condition of this bike. It was well maintained by an older gentleman who has had many bikes. This thing was babied. It hadn't been started over the winter... I went to look at it and it fired right up using the kick start. No problems or random sounds, drives very well. It has new tires, an even and steady idle, the whole shabang. Lights all function, etc. (I even got a loading ramp, windshield, spare oil filters, a throttle cable, and a few other spare parts) So, was this a good deal? I feel like I got an amazing deal. I honestly bought it on a whim. I'm just young and broke so when I saw a well maintained bike for a cheap price I jumped on it. Then I logged online and researched Xj's and Xs's and found this forum and you guys seem to love em *nudge nudge wink wink* and I'm SO PUMPED! The only caveat is that the start button doesn't work. Will that be hard to fix?? OH and also, it's a Heritage Special. Not sure if that's really important or is a distinguishing factor. Please let me know if that means anything.
Thank you in advance for your understanding of my excited/possibly annoying rant.

Last edited: