Rebuild top end

Downer

XS650 Addict
Reaction score
Ok tore the top end off did a few measurements and found that the pistons are out of spec and the bore seems fine besides needing a honing so my first question is do just the pistons wear on these things? And is there a way to just buy stock pistons and put oversize rings on them to fill the gap? Do they even make oversize rings for stock piston what other possibilities do I have I took it to a machine shop they said they could bore it 1 over for 200 bucks!!! But by the time I pay for that a gasket kit and 1 over pistons I'm already pretty close to mikes stock 650 kit I'm pretty new to rebuilding so far it's pretty easy but the whole measurements thing is throwing me off so I'm not sure what parts I should be measuring for or really what to do next I'm at a standstill thanx

The pistons wear 1st, obviously because they're softer metal, then eventually the bores wear. Yes, you can buy stock pistons but there's no telling if they will be an exact match for your bores. The pistons and bores are matched as a set at the factory. Every bore and every piston is a little different in size. The trick is to match them up so you get the proper clearance between the 2. There is a 3 digit # stamped on the piston top. It is the fractional part of that piston size, I.E. 74.xxx mm. There is also a number stenciled on the side of the cylinder sleeve that sticks out of the bottom of the alloy cast part. That is the fractional part of the bore size, I.E. 75.xxx mm. Subtracting one from the other will give you the clearance. Ideally it should be between .05 and .055 mm.