Charging system not working

Caleb Hurst

XS650 Enthusiast
Reaction score
Hey guys!

I am very new to this page but am loving all of the helpful information provided on this site.

I just finished restoring a 1981 xs650 and installed a new LED headlight as well as a new taillight. I rode around for a couple days with no problems, until the other day I noticed my headlight was puttering in time with the engine. Pulsing along with my RPM’s.

By the time I got home I had no electrical. The lights would only come on if I was riding around 40mph but as soon as I slowed down all the electrical would go out. Bike still would run but no lights.

Anyone have any suggestions to point me in the right direction? I have installed a brand new battery so I doubt that’s the issue

You have a volt/ohm meter for troubleshooting?

OK... recharge the battery. Write down the voltage when charged. Start the bike and record the voltage at idle. Should be about 12V. Slowly rev the engine and watch voltmeter. Should steadily increase to about 14-14.5V at about 2500-3000rpm. Let us know what you get.

You still have the stock charging system installed?

Up near top of page you will see TECH Clicking this takes you to a list of topics, Such as electrical. Scroll down looking for the Charging System Guide. This gives you all the procedures and specs you need to trouble shoot you charging system.
Quite often it's something simple, like bad brushes, dirty connections or switches.
Leo

Howdy Caleb and welcome from Canada's sunny southern coast in Windsor, Ontario.

Below is a picture of your alternator and the little bracket on the left that holds the two alternator brushes in place.

NOTE: they don't like like a real "brush" - they are actually small rectangular blocks of carbon with a spring to press them against the spinning alternator rotor that you can see inside the engine case in the photo.