Clutch lever is like pulling in a Mac truck. Ideas?

Motocue

XS650 Enthusiast
Reaction score
I'm a big boy x pro motocrosser but dam my clutch is a bitch to pull all day. I have arthritis bad too. So I got two oppositions hydrlic cheep pit bike one maybe a better lever set up. 2nd a moose easy pull 40 bucks. Dam she is stiff . I have a new cable and lube it reg so wtf. What do u do ?

A lubed cable will still bind if routed improperly with bends that are too tight. Besides the cable being well lubed, you need to keep the worm gear assembly packed with grease. Clean the plastic female part that mounts on the case out first and inspect it. They can crack and then distort and cause binding when you pull the clutch lever. Also, the female part can distort and bind up if you have its two mounting screws too tight.

I would start by disconnecting the cable at the hand lever and "un-routing" it from the bike frame. Reconnect it so it has just one big arch going from lever to case. Try it now to see if it's better. If it is, your routing and excess bending/kinks were probably at fault. If no better then the worm gear could be the problem.

Have you taken apart the worm, cleaned and inspect for cracks? The one part of the worm is nylon and can crack. his crack uses most of the lever pull to close the crack. It also lets the parts bind up. This increases the pull.
With a good worm, properly lubed, a good cable properly lubed and with proper adjustment it will pull relatively easy.
I'm a bit like you, arthritis, with all this done even with 70lb clutch springs I can pull my lever with two fingers.
I have pulled the clutches on many bikes. A lot of new bikes it feels like the clutch cable is broke or not hooked to anything.
If you pull the clutch on many bikes of the 70's, they all pull a bit hard.
Leo

or you could actually try to pull a mack truck, then your bike clutch will be magically easy. lol