I would LOVE your build input!! (Cafe Style)? any at all!

big donnie brasco

XS650 Enthusiast
Reaction score
So I got this bike a few weeks ago, with 5000 miles on it. It was sold to me as a 1980 special. Seams to run/ride just fine.
I am an artist, NOT a mechanic or a fabricator (altho I wish I were).

I just finished a Yamaha Vstar 1100, but it was 95% bolt on stuff (see pict)

SO, now I would like to get my hands dirty and really made a cool looking cafe style bike

I know I will have thousands of questions and I am sure this will be one of those threads that goes 30 pages before I'm done :p

I'm not even sure what I don't know! I have ordered a clymer manual.

I even think I would like it to be kicker only... with a hidden kill switch, hidden battery and wiring where possible etc.

I would really appreciate any up front input from you guys! Not just your opinion on what I am doing or have done.... feel free to tell me what you think I should do, or what you would do if this were your bike.

Thanks a TON!

*ps... selling all the side covers seat bars etc... maybe the tank too as I have a 750 tank for it!

BDB

The black bike is the one I just completed... the RED one is the xs650 ... DUH

Attachments

• IMG_20140802_073323.jpg
    IMG_20140802_073323.jpg
    199.5 KB · Views: 256
  • 20140809_135200 (1).jpg
    20140809_135200 (1).jpg
    258.3 KB · Views: 309
Last edited:
Quote: "feel free to tell me what you think I should do, or what you would do if this were your bike."

Leave it alone. It looks to nice to fuk it up. See your quote above.

Thanks Dave... and believe me, I have thought a lot about that!

If I don't molest her, then I'll just sell her outright, as I am not a fan of the riding position. Don't get me wrong, I LOVE the bike and the LOOKS, just not my style.

Thank you for your honesty !