My First Post! Question Too about a 72?

Frankenstein

XS650 Member
Reaction score
Hey all, my first post here. I started my first xs650 build this last fall and slowly banged away over the winter and spring in my little free time. I am trying to wire it now. My question is I think my block is a 72 maybe someone can tell me for sure or how to find out. I have searched and found stuff but I am not for sure I think it's a 72 here is the serial number (S650-108710)

Also what do you recommend with this model using the starter or going kick only, thanks for any help in advance all, happy to be aboard.

So is there any way of knowing if it's a late 71 or a 72? Reason I ask is it looks like the carb set up is from a 71 going by the stats on mikesxs.net?

Anythoughts as to why there wouldn't be any gears inside from the starter to the drive gear? Someone doing incomplete work? Late model 71's maybe have the area for a starter but it was an option?

Confused, thanks.

Sorry I am no expert on early engines. Just that a long time has passed since your bike left the factory, hard to tell what all has gone on in that time. keep watching, parts engines show up a on craigslist frequently, there were just three early engines in southern Illinois.

- as far as im aware they changed the early cases slightly several times, most changes were relatively cosmetic and had to do with strengthening around the cylinder base
- 256 motors...XS1-XS1F...changes from
#000101..XS1
#001235..XS1
#003430..XS1-XS1F
#022833..XS1F
- 306 motors...XS2...from #100101 had the e-starter cases

- one of the XS1F changes-not sure which one
file.jpg

Ok, here are some photos maybe this will help explain. 72 (I think) had a starter on it, tried to use it and starter just spun didn't engage. Took it out and couldn't feel a gear inside to catch the starter. Took off the inspection cover on the other side of the housing and found this NOTHING?????