Need help with my ‘80 650 Special

savagetactical

XS650 Member
Reaction score
im new to the whole forum thing but I need some help. I purchased a 1980 650 Special with a lil over 9k on the clock. Took it out for a long tide last Saturday. Long story short, the rear caliper seized up on me. Ive tried to call my local Yamaha shop to get the front and rear pads. Turns out that what I thought my bike was an XS 650 Special isnt... I tried givin the guy on the phone my VIN so he could look up the part that way and he informed me that I needed 17 digits for my number but I thought that way back then in 1980, there wasn’t any universal VIN code. Anyhow, if my bike is an XS then apparently somebody changed the rear drum over to disk. How can I find out, for sure, what EXACTLY my bike is so I can get the right pads for the front and rear? Any and all help is greatly appreciated!!!

Attachments

• AB13F075-E5D8-4D22-A0E6-D564845166BA.jpeg
    AB13F075-E5D8-4D22-A0E6-D564845166BA.jpeg
    266.1 KB · Views: 167
Closer pics would help us see what brakes your bike has.

80 specials came with disk brakes front and back. The tubes used to bolt the rear plunger to the frame above the right side foot peg bolts confirm your bike came with a rear disk. Part 29-3522 from Mike’s is what you need assuming the caliper is stock.

Last edited:
Roger that!!! Thank you sooo much!! But im curious. How can I find out exactly what my bike is? What I was told was its a 1980 Yamaha XS650 Special.