Replacing worn out gears...

I see this is your first post, lets start by Welcoming you to the forum.
No you don't need to pull of the top end. You can flip the engine upside down and remove the lower case. You do have to remove both the left and right sidecovers to get to all the case nuts. There is one behind the clutch and by the starter gear cover on the left side.
Leo

Attachments

• r25bab.jpg
    r25bab.jpg
    29.3 KB · Views: 222
Just had a thought, Why do you think the gears are worn? It may be just a misadjusted shift arm or broken springs on the shift arm and shift drum.
Leo

Last edited:
Thank you!

Well, when I try to put in 1st gear, I'd say the bike acts just as if one of the gearwheels would be shattered. But I'm pretty new at this, so I can't say for certain.

Whatever the problem, I thought I have to split the engine and have a look at the gearbox - which I now know can be done without messing around with the top and cylinders and all that stuff. Thanks for that. This should get me out on the roads, hopefully, much sooner than I thought.

About your other question - I don't know. But I guess I will, once I've had it apart and had a good look.

Sincerely,
Felle

All the things I mentioned can ne looked at without even pulling the engine. All that stuff is under the right side engine cover.
On adjusting the shift arm you look and see if the upper lever is spaced evenly on the shift drum. This lever has a spring to hold the lever engaged to the shift drum.
The shift drum has a roller on a lever that a spring holds against the shift drum.
If either of these springs are broken the transmission won't shift into gear and not stay in gear if it does shift.