Carb issue

oms1981

XS650 Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone. I went to start up my bike (1982) the other day for the first time this year. It has been in the garage over winter. I got it running but quickly noticed a problem.

Now before I get into this, I would just like to begin by saying that I am a pretty crappy mechanic. My knowledge is quite basic, so if you have any info to offer please keep it at idiot level:shrug:

I rolled her out of the garage, choked it, gave it some throttle and it started pretty easily after a few kicks. I had to keep the throttle opened up a little bit or it would starve and cut out. But I was happy, I got it started with minimal effort. Then I smelled the gas...

I noticed that fuel was leaking below the bike, pretty bad. So I pulled the side covers off and I saw that fuel was leaking pretty quickly out of the left side air box; like instead of going in the carb its just bleeding out all over the side. I didn't have time to mess around with it but my immediate first thought was that the carb is just gunked up from sitting. maybe the float is stuck or something. I have also noticed that if I turn the petcock to the "prime" position the fuel starts flowing out from the same spot, even when it isn't running.

Now the problem that I have is that it is in a friends garage and he wants it out asap. but it clearly isn't safe to ride as is. I'm hoping that someone who isn't a mechanical bonehead like myself will have some advice. Like I said I had literally zero time to work on it. But my plan currently was just to spray some carb cleaner in there, knock on the float bowl and see if I can loosen it up.

Any thoughts? I'd really appreciate it a ton:thumbsup: