engine shutting down after choke goes off

sand

XS650 Member
Reaction score
hi folks, need a little help here. here's the story, feel free to skip down to paragraph 3 for the actual question.

ok, so this is my 2nd bike and first XS650. i'm a mechanical engineer, so naturally, i don't know crap about actually being a mechanic. i'll just put that out there right now. anyways, bought this '79 special from a local guy who builds street trackers out of these bikes. this was a project a friend/client brought to him that he had started working on but ended having to sell. by the time i got it, he had rewired it, put a different tank on it, put a pamco ignition system on it with new plugs and wires, welded an open exhaust on it and put a set of the 80-84 34mm carbs on it. it started on the 1st kick the first time i went to look and again on the 2nd time. the day i bought it, it wouldn't start for like 15 minutes. we figured, ok, it's out of fuel. put fuel in it and somehow got it to start. i ride it from his place to work, where i turned it off. it promptly decides to leak fuel through the carbs out the air box and onto the frame from both sides. long story short i eventually figured out (i'm a carb n00b) that the floats were stuck and the petcock was toast and gave the carbs a wack. that takes care of the fuel leak. but now it still wont start. i took the battery home and charged it overnight. took it back later that week, put the batter back in, put some new fuel in it and BAM! starts on the 2nd kick.