Help! 1980 xs650

SDcaffinatedXS

XS650 Enthusiast
Reaction score
Hey guys i have a 1980 xs650 and im having trouble getting her to run. So heres the scoop, the bike has bs34's with heiden tuning needle jet kit with setup to run a free flowing exhaust so the jets that came with it i installed along with the needle installed on the 3rd notch down. Carbs are running xsperformance pod filters. Coil is high output from mikesxs with ngk caps and iridium plugs gapped alittle less than .040. Battery is agm 12v 8amp hour. Carbs set about 4 turns out and exhaust is basically strait pipe. First of all im getting a good spark from the plugs and both are firing at the same time. When i kick start it, it seems like it wants to start but it doesnt want to run. Ill get an occasional poping and a few times it puffed some white smoke and came out from the carbs. I check the plugs theres a little bit of black stuff on it, and since its popping it makes me think its running lean. This is my first build and im almost there, i just want to get her startef so and help or advice will be appreciated. Thanks.

Click on "Tech" at the top of the page on this site. The "General XS650 Troubleshooting" section has lots of good info for you to read.

I'm guessing you have carb problems..............are you confident that all passages (and jets) have been cleared?

As others have said check your cam chain tension, valve adjustment, timing. Get these right before you start with carbs.
What are the jet sizes you put in? Starting at stock and adjusting the jetting to what your engine likes can be a long process or you might get it the first try.
The stock jets on an 80 are 132.5 mains, 42.5 pilots. With pod filters and open pipes I might try 45 pilot and 137.5 main. The float level needs to be right, 27 mm's.
This www.amckayltd.com/carbguide.pdf is required reading to better understand your carbs. It explains how to clean and tune your carbs. Print it out, read it. Read it till you understand it.