Pamco advance rod

BartBuddy28

XS650 Enthusiast
Reaction score
Hello folks..been a looong time since ive been on here..mainly because my bike just refuses to charge its battery....soo after about 3 years i finally saved up enough money to buy the ultimate PMA/Pamco kit from mike's xs to convert my 81 xs650 over to the new PMA instead of the stock alternator set-up...so problem number 1, my kit, although it advertised that it came with detailed instructions, did not come with any instructions at all, so i had to install the PMA part blind...i think i did ok.....problem number to, i am attempting to install the advance rod/mechanical advance set-up into the camshaft...i have tightened the two nuts on either side of the advance rod, and now the rod does not move on its own, the camshaft still spins but im afraid to put together everything an fire up the bike and blow something up, so did i do something wrong? Im a car mechanic not a bike mechanic, but basic physics tell me that the rod should move independently of the camshaft but maybe im mistaken...problem number 3, i have no clue as to how to wire up said pamco set up as all the instructions i can find on the net say to connect red wire from the pamco to a terminal on the supplied coil, and the green wire to the opposite terminal, or the red wire to the red/white wire on my existing coil...however the red/white wire is in a plug, so does this mean i have to remove the red/white wire from the plug, and connect that wire to the red wire from the pamco, and then connect to the new coil? Problem number 4, i can't seem to find a way to attach the supplied coil from the kit to my bike because where the plug wires attach to the coil itself will interfere with either my gas tank, or my motor mount so how the hell do i use my favtory coil, or the kit coil. Problem number 5, how do i hook uo the kit supplied voltage regulator because i can only use 1 of the 2 plugs on it...and problem number 6, why are there so many unsed pl