street tracker conversion

Josh42

XS650 Member
Reaction score
I'm brand new to actual motorcycles. I've build motorized bikes and go karts and the like so I'm familiar with small engines and riding a "motorcycle" (even if it's just a little baby) but still new to motorcycles. I'm looking into buying one and have pretty much settled on a street tracker version of an xs 650. Basically this bike exactly would be ideal. https://www.google.com/search?q=xs+...AUICigB&biw=1920&bih=918#imgrc=-uDBFPMDUUGYtM:

However that specific one is very expensive and I am but a poor college student. So, starting from a stock bike what am I looking at to make it look close to the one pictured above? Or at least that sort of style. Just a price for the conversion would be appreciated as well as what would actually be involved if you've got the time. Starting from say, something like this: https://www.cycletrader.com/listing/1980-Yamaha-XS650-5000260499

Thanks!

Yeah that's why I said something similar. That ones a custom that you can't even buy. I'm just looking for something similar in form and feel. Not even worried about the color or anything atm.

I started with a $100 bike. I'm a machinist and have made many of my own parts, including the tube bender I made the rear hoop with. Some parts I already had stashed, and I'm not nearly done yet. But just what I have bought since starting the build I'm close to $2k, wheels were $1100, forks $250, bike $100, rotors $75 etc. I figure I'll probably be between 3 and 4k to be on the road, with minimal engine work more if I rebuild.

Attachments

• tmp_12196-20170930_153357344533096.jpg
    tmp_12196-20170930_153357344533096.jpg
    179.7 KB · Views: 235
First, find one that runs and charges. I think there is a sticky in the tech section. Alot of voltohm meter testing is found under barn finds.
Second, ride it.