What cause stock Ignition box (TCI box) transitor to burn out!

nghieplk

XS650 Enthusiast
Reaction score
Hi everyone, newbie here.

Mine is 1980 heritage special.
I've replace the stock regulator by new 3 phrase regulator, and do modify the stock stator. My bike running a stock tci box.

Last few days ago, i've spent my holiday time on a 4 days tour. On my country, the road is so bad that i cannot ride fast. But on the last day, i suddenly increase the speed of the bike to the top speed. Then my bike suddenly shutdown and cannot start (by both kick or electric start). And while checking the problem, i see that some transitors in the tci box has burned! (attached image)

Why this happened? Maybe because of the regulator or the stator....I'll take a picture when i back home. My friend told me I need to turn on the headlight while riding?

And i wonder if does it necessary to get a new, reliable charging/iginition system to replace the old stock one, for the compatibility and synchronization. Because its the 2nd time my tci box has problem.

Thank you and appreciate all the help!

Attachments

• IMG_20170123_163041.jpg
    IMG_20170123_163041.jpg
    181.9 KB · Views: 452
Could be from vibration.
That box is 37 yrs old. Your ignition and charging are two seperate systems, so I dont think its related.

Edit: Make sure you check the red/ white wire that runs to the fuse box. Hardwiring without a fuse can fry them.

Get a volt meter on it watch that it isn't charging over 14 volts. Yes a headlight and large stock battery both work to reduce the chance of voltage spikes hurting electronics.

Some of the cause may be cracked solder connections creating, resistance and heat. It has been awhile but 7 - 10 years ago several reported saving the TCI by simply reheating/melting the solder connections that had cracked over time. One poster was able to locate the bad connections by using a plastic probe to move the joints.