Will an Electric Tach from XS750 or XS1100 work on a 1979 XS650SF?

tnbert

Banned
Reaction score
Hello. I have a '79 XS650SF. PO plugged the tach cable hole on engine and removed cable. Wondered if anyone has tried an XS750 or XS1100 electric tach on an XS650?. My XS650 has been upgraded to an electronic ignition I'm told, but not sure of the brand installed. Also, does the plug that the PO installed in engine tach cable hole need a hole in it for oil to flow or just a solid bolt. I'm new to the 650 world. Thanks.

I'll pull it out asap. Haven't even pulled it out yet. Just looks like a bolt head from outside. I'll post asap. Thanks.

Hi tnbert,
FYI the XS750/850 tach is mechanical, just like an XS650 tach, the only difference is the redline is at 9,000 Rpm instead of 7,500.
The XS11 tach is electrical, it counts the a/c pulses from the alternator. Dunno how to wire it to an XS650 though.
&BTW, the XS650 tach drive is an extension of the oil pump drive. Best you check exactly what the dreaded PO has done in there.

Also, the XS1100 had a 4 cylinder engine so depending on how it was wired, the instrument may read 2X the actual RPM.

Pete

Thanks for the responses. Yea, all I've ever had was XS11s since 1979. Just bought the 1979 650 last year and it's in the garage. No time yet to work on it, but it's very nice lookin! I didn't realize the 750/850 tach was mechanical too. Thought they were electric. I also considered the 4 cyl v. 2 cyl tach dilemma but thought some guru here had pulled it off! Anyway, thanks for the responses. I'll post if I learn more.

Yea Fred. You are right. Better check what the "dreaded" PO did with that plug. Believe me, he is more "dreaded" every time I talk to him. Did a real nice cosmetic job, but mechanical bothers me. Does oil flow through the bolt? In other words, does it need a hole drilled through the side? Thanks again.