Any Traditional Muzzleloader Shooters?

littlebill31

Smells of Raw Fuel
Reaction score
Figured I would ask. I've been shooting traditional flintlock and percussion for over 20 years. Got my first flintlock when I was 12 and have been shooting since. I've been away from it for about 4 years though, just too busy and lack of ranges here. But I found a shoot this Saturday, which it's supposed to rain of course, for blackpowder only.
Just wanted to see if any other members shot or wanted to share stories, maybe some trading.
Thanks

Oh hell yeah Bro!
I do re-enactment too.
My pinnacle piece is a bastard Fusil based on info from the Tunica horde discussed in the Hamilton book "Colonial Trade Guns". Its a .58 cal 44" swamped octagon to round smooth bore with an L&R Queen Anne lock, early trigger, fusil thimbles and butt plate, 1st model Bess trigger guard and sling with a serpent sideplate built on a fusil stock.........no front sight. Good indn gun
onwpr.jpg

Very cool!!!
I have a 2 T/C Hawkens. Both 50 cal, one percussion and one flint. They are my plain shooting guns. I use to hunt with them a lot. I've had the flint since '92 and the cap for about 10 years. Great guns.
My baby is a kit I built myself. It's a Circa 1770 Lancaster by John Bivins. 42" .45 cal swamped barrel, brass trim, a beautiful maple stock and Jim Chambers Siler lock. It's got a plain little sight on the front. Shoots like a mutha too. Plain wooden patch box. I wanted to keep it "Poor boy" looking. I'm not to big into the real fancy brass boxes.
I bought it from a guy who did a little to it and screwed up some of the staples, but you can't tell.
I love it. The pic is a photo from Track of the Wolf, they sell the kit there. I'll get some better ones this weekend.

Attachments

• flint lock.jpg
    flint lock.jpg
    10.7 KB · Views: 175
Last edited: