Fixed some battery wiring now no spark. shorted something out

crazyorigin

XS650 Addict
Reaction score
I just picked up an 80 xs650 and was fixing some shoddy battery wiring. In the process of doing this when removing the battery one of the extension wires had a hole worn in the casing of the positive and was angled in a poor direction and it hit the frame and something shorted out. There is some exposed fuses under the seat and all those fuses look fine. I am pretty new to XS' s, and am not sure where to start. I also swapped out the bars today before I noticed it would not start but I don't think that is the issue. The turn signal switch does not work but it started before both ways with that being broken.

I now have no spark even when kicking the bike over and the electric start will not engage either.

Any help would be greatly appreciated and locations of the item too so I can focus on getting it fixed.

Did you replace the bars with black bars? If so you lost your ground for the starter button. There are little tabs on your bar switch housings that need to go to bare metal. Recheck your fuses, they can look good but be bad. If you have the stock glass fuses it is a good ideas to replace the fuses and holders with modern automotive style fuses.

Thank you for the reply. I actually replaced the bars with red anodized aluminum motocross bars, Renthal Fat Bars. I was thinking there may be some type of ground in those switches but really was not sure. I will check for these tabs and make sure they are getting a good connection. I replaced the stock rubber riser bushings with some aluminum solid ones I made too.

There is automotive type fuses under the seat that look like they have been added. They are all labeled too and look to be fine.

My tail light and horn are working I am just getting no spark at all to the engine.