Has the Stigma of "Jap" Bikes been Exorcised in the USA?

I remember the "rice burner" comments from the hardcore HD riders I knew in the late 60's, earlier 70's. But I didn't care what you rode as long as you rode. My first ride was a Triumph Trophy and it got me around for a few years. Now my regular ride is a HD Road King for long trips back and forth from my PA home to my home in Fl along with other places of interest. I've owned several XSs over the past 10 years and love them. Easy to ride around town and work on, make it your own since I am a novice at motorcycle repair. I enjoy the brotherhood when I meet other bikers at different events, common interest in riding and making the bike your own. Now they call them metric bikes.

Along with brand discrimination, you also have the size thing.
More than the "whatcha ridin" question, I hear the "how big is it" question.
One upmanship is alive and well and as ingrained as any habit. Even here on the XS650 site.

So very true...When a 1300cc cruiser is deemed a middle weight machine. A lot of people perceive our old 650s as akin to something a little bigger than tiddlers..Sucks, but true...Here is a fact. Most stock XS650s make better power than the stock 883 H-D- Sportys...

Why I remember the day when the Triumph and BSA 650 "Big Twins" were the baddest things on the road..Little did they know that both Honda and Kawasaki were each concocting a their 4 cylinder game changers in the way of the Honda 750 and the then yet unreleased Kaw 900....There is where the CC. size war started.. Of course Norton had their 750 Commander, Benelli had their 6 cylinder machine...But Honda and Kaw put everyone on their arses and started the size war thing that continues today...

Yeah I remember the inline 6 cyl Hondas in the 70's, You couldn't tip it because it would hit a cylinder lol. But those V65 Magnas were scary fast.
They were scary because the HP and gear ratio didn't give you the sense of speed the smaller bikes did.