Introduction, First XS650, Leaky Petcocks, Quick Temp Fix Ideas?

OakBehringer

XS650 Guru
Reaction score
Hello. Tonight I'm picking up my first 650, a '73 TX650. Runs well, looks even better. Check out that seat! That's probably the only thing I'll change for at least a year as I have other projects that take precedence. This will be my daily rider for the time.

I'm new to the XS650, and excited about it, as I've wanted one for a while. I'm not new to motorcycles. I've had a '66 Honda CL77 305, Honda CB450, '74 Honda CB350F, two Honda CT70s, and a Honda CL160. I still have the two CT70s (one has kinda become my girlfriend's, thus the reason for the second) and the CL160 is in my workspace completely disassembled, getting the cafe treatment, about 80% done.

Needless to say, it's nice to be riding a bike that has some power. And some shake. I'm picking it up tonight, but it's leaking fuel from the petcocks pretty heavily. I don't want to light on fire on the way home. I probably have a 15-20 minute ride ahead of me. Any ideas? I was thinking of zip-tying some sandwich bags over/around the petcocks, to catch the drip, but I'm guessing the gas will just melt/dissolve the bag?

Thanks in advance for the ideas,
Adam

Attachments

• Sell1.jpg
    Sell1.jpg
    130.5 KB · Views: 223
  • Sell2.jpg
    Sell2.jpg
    118.5 KB · Views: 215
Remove the face plate and arm from the petcock. Under them you'll find a rubber disc with 4 holes in it. Flip it over and that may cure the leaks.

throw it in a truck or a van. 15 - 20 minutes doesn't matter, its hot after 2 minutes and if that gas gets on a live wire you're in trouble

don't risk it

I'm thinking I'm going to remove the XS tank altogether and duct tape one of my little, plastic CT70 tanks to the top of the frame. The CT70 tanks have two fuel outlets so it should work perfect for a short ride. And it will look hilarious.