My BS38's came in today!!

suthpaw22

XS650 Addict
Reaction score
So I just got home from picking my lil man up from school to find my BS38's have came in the mail today. I'm wondering what course of action I should take now. I know very little about carbs. People on here have posted some good info about them and I will be looking it over, but I'm currious as to what people in my position would do.

All I know that my bike needs is the carbs, petcocks, filters, gas cap, and the battery charged. Should I put the carbs on and gravity feed fuel to them to see if they work and the bike fires?

People please keep in mind that I am a novice before you stone me to death. I want to learn and appreciate the feedback, but it isn't anything to get your blood preasure worked up over. I'm new to mechanics and I can't spell. Thats it.

Looking at the carbs there is obviously oxidation and I plan to soda blast them later to clean them up a bit. Peeking inside they look to be clean. I am concerned with the choke. I don't know how much the range of motion is suppose to be, but there isn't very much here.

1 - blow test. Blow (gentlyish) in the upper mouth shaped entry. The slider should rise, then when you stop, close back up again.

2 - choke - "isn't very much" isn't descriptive. When you push the choke lever, does it click to it's open position? If the plungers don't raise at all - replace them. Or you could try taking them out and getting them moving again.

3 - pull the bowls, check for crap, clean it out. Blow out holes with compressed air. For the love of little green rabbits, use a proper #2 phillips, not one of those goofy multi drivers.