New to xs650B - Manuals and Battery

goodfella961

New to Yamaha XS650
Reaction score
I am brand new to motorcycles and I purchased a 1975 Yamaha xs650b the other day. The bike has been fully restored with 6500 original miles on it. I am eager to learn all about this bike and how to repair it myself. Again being a a beginner this will take time, I do have many friends that ride and have a lot of knowledge.
Is there a good site to buy a manual from? Do I need the exact manual for the xs650B or can I just get the xs650?
Also my bike has been running and starting fine, then all of a sudden today it would not turn over. Is there certain things I should always check before starting? I plan on getting a battery tender at some point.
Thanks in advance.

First let me welcome you to the asylum.
I think I would star by charging the battery. Do you have a test meter?
Once you get the battery charged, check battery voltage. Now start the bike.
What does it meter read at idle?
Now rev the bike to 2500-3000 rpm's. What does the meter read?
Depending on what those readings are will tell if your charging system is working and how well.
From there we can help you detrermine if there is a problem and how to fix it.

I do not have a test meter, and I believe the battery is pretty new... tried to start it and it would not turn over. But I got it to kickstart today first try.

There you go. Time for your first motorcycle tool, the multimeter less than $10.00 at any farm store radioshack walmart etc. Listen to and do what Leo says, he will lead you to the truth. Not to mention he will help you find the answer to why your charging system isn't.

Meters, Do you have a Harbor Frieght near you? I like the meter they sell. I was on there website. The price has gone up. $9.99 regular price. On sale $3.99, with a coupon $2.99. You can get the coupon on the website.
It's a very good meter for the price, as good as the $40 Sun Pro meter I got at the parts store.