No pickup? How to increase acceleration?

xsleo1975

XS650 Member
Reaction score
Hi guys first I want to thank you for all your help with the electronics, I now get to start my bike on the very first kick.
The bike idles fine, charges fine but when I try to go for a ride I can't get any acceleration, first gear feels week and I can't get it pass 40 mph.
Has anybody had this problem before ?
Thanx Leonardo

The bike has points, is a 73 tx650. Stock, I should also mention that at times when kick staring it there is a back kick that could send you flying across the yard, now this doesn't happen all the time and the bikes starts better then it ever has.
I'm really new at this since it is my first bike (bobber build) and now I need to learn about advance ignitions. Is there any videos or reading material I should look at ?
Thank again Leonardo

Yes sounds like you need to remove clean and lube your advance rod.
While you are in there look at the advance springs they have a habit of stretching causing poor weight retraction. The weights should snap back in when the points aren't pushing on the points cam.

1. remove points cam
2. slide out advance rod

When setting the timing the static timing as described in your repair manual is just to get it to run well enough to set the timing with a timing light. Shoot the timing with the timing light and adjust to get it firing between the two F marks. Now slowly increase the rpms. As you increase the rpms watch the timing marks. The rotor mark should move over to the left. It should start moving just above idle and reach but not go past the max advance mark at about 3000-3200 rpms.