Timing Mark Way Too Far Counterclockwise

Angry Rabbit

XS650 Enthusiast
Reaction score
Hey guys (and gals)-I just installed a Pamco unit and the bike fires up, although the idle is kind of high. It's got pod filters and straight pipes, so I know I need some tuning. Strange thing is, when I use the timing light the reference point is way too far counterclockwise. I've rotated the Pamco plate left and right, and I can't seem to get the timing mark down around the 5PM position. If I rev the engine, the timing mark turns clockwise with the strobe, but it never goes far enough.

Any clues? It's my first time with a timing light, so obviously I don't know what I'm doing....Thanks, Cranky Bunny (Portland, Oregon)

Cranky,

1. What year / model is your bike?
2. Are you using a timing light with built in preset degrees?
3. Have you tried connecting the timing light to the other plug?
4. If you have a 80's bike, did you install all three of the locating pins?
5. Have you seen this video to check that your advance rod is not binding?

Cranky,

1. What year / model is your bike?
2. Are you using a timing light with built in preset degrees?
3. Have you tried connecting the timing light to the other plug?
4. If you have a 80's bike, did you install all three of the locating pins?
5. Have you seen this video to check that your advance rod is not binding?

Thanks for getting back to me so quick. My bike is an 83 and my TCI unit had failed. I had gotten my pamco kit from MikesXS, with the high output coil. I didn't need to install the locating pins since they came already installed. I knew I had the right plug with my timing light because it went nuts when I hooked it up to the other wire. I finally managed to get the timing right by sanding down the advance rod so it turned a bit easier. I thought I had already gotten it to "snap" as the video shows, but I guess I didn't get it enough.