ABS on an XS.

mark57

mark57
Reaction score
Hi,
Just wondering if it was possible to fit an ABS system from a later bike to an 1978 XS,and what would be involved,i am a complete newbie so dont laugh too hard if it cant be done.:)

Hi,
Just wondering if it was possible to fit an ABS system from a later bike to an 1978 XS,and what would be involved,i am a complete newbie so dont laugh too hard if it cant be done.:)

Yes, I'd say its possible, but I suspect it would be quite expensive. Its already very easy to spend thousands of dollars on these bikes. I think that 99% of owners would put ABS at the bottom of there shopping list.

If you like excellent braking, install a 4 piston caliper on the front wheel.

I don't see the appeal. ABS tends to increase braking distances.

In ideal conditions perhaps but that also assume you are a riding God.

For the rest of us mortals I would suggest that we need all the help we can get when a) The road is wet or greasy b) An unexpected hazard appears and c) We have grabbed a handful of front brake.

I think that anyone who thinks they are better than modern day electronic controls are perhaps deluding themselves.

It doesn't take a god to figure out grabbing "a fistfull of brake" is about the worst thing anyone can generally do. Even a well tuned drum setup can exceed a tires ability to stop. If you wind up in a situation like that chances are straight ahead is the last place you want to go.

Furthermore modern day electronics are prone to failures too. Even modern 4 wheel vehicles can have ABS failures. I've been there. My 01 Xterra had a sensor failure at 60k that caused the vehicle to stop like it was on ice on dry pavement. My manual trans saved me, as I was able to downshift to help slow.

Just wondering if it was possible to fit an ABS system from a later bike to an 1978 XS...

It's much easier to fit an ABS system from an earlier bike. :laugh:

HodakWheel14.jpg