1983 XS650 Project

shade

XS650 Addict
Reaction score
I am about to begin work on an 83 XS650 that has been sitting in a garage since the early 90's. I bought the bike used in high school only to find the carburetors were destroyed. I messed around with it for a while and then moved on.
I recently came across a CB550 where I live in in NYC and managed to get it going though it had been sitting for about 10 years outside, and I am interested in working in the XS650.
I recently purchased some used carbs and sent them out to be setup, they are now on the bike. I've removed the rust from the gas tank, and about a month ago poured a bit of oil into each cylinder. I have new spark plugs, and a new battery.

I have very little experience with motorcycles so I will be asking you guys for help along the way, or if you even think this bike has a chance. It's got low mileage and is in good condition.

I plan on changing the oil tomorrow where do I start after that?

Thanks

You may have the moxie to get her running. How many miles on her?
Like Paul sez....post some pics. The Heritage Specials have some unique differences from the other models and are a good platform for resto mods.

I've got the carbs back on the bike.
Changed the oil, new spark plugs etc...
I put the new battery on and the lights work, but the bike wont even turn over. I want to get it to turn over before I put any gas in the tank, in case it sits for a while.

Attachments

• xs650_1.jpg
    xs650_1.jpg
    270.2 KB · Views: 412
I just went out and tried to use the kick starter and it wouldn't budge.
I imagine that this is pretty bad.

Seized engine? Were you aware of that when you got it or is this something new?

All is not lost.
I bought my low mileage '77 knowing that the engine was seized, and I freed her up without tearing it down and it runs like a top.