Calibrated Fingers

TimeMachine

SeventyEighte
Reaction score
Being a regular XS650 site reader there is a subject which periodically brings up a question concerning home mechanic technique. Often torque values on components are addressed by specific torque values from service manuals in this forum. Torque wrenches of a variety of design are at times compared to others and technique is also described in detail. Precision use of tools is a great concern for all of us to achieve best results working on our XS's , as well as our other machines ! My own question is, Who is actually using precision torque wrenches and who is actually using ratchets and combo wrenches by "feel" ? I am confessing that after decades of wrenching on my own machines, trucks, motorcycles etc. I rarely ever actually use a torque wrench. This is not to shock anyone . I am a long time machinist by trade and precision is instilled in my every thought much of the time. Being a regular "hands on" kind of person for many years, I simply have extremely good feel because of my life style and many years of practice. At home working on my own motorcycles, I prefer "feel" of my calibrated fingers over a torque wrench. I cannot even remember stripping a thread. My bikes and machines generally do not leak. I know many of you are also well aged and experienced with your tools. This is not at all to dismiss the importance of proper tightness. This is to hear whether others believe they are so familiar with their finger calibration that they "skip" the effort of setting the torque wrench.. lets chime in on whos doing this ? I hope its not just me -RT ;)

No, it's not just you, RT. Just like a child learns to walk by falling down, developing the deft touch with threaded fasteners involves experience and a history of *oops*.

For normal fastening, there's a happy zone between too loose and too tight, vibrates off or cracks parts, leaks or warps.