Help noob with advice on Brass Fuel-T from MikesXS

MOSFET

XS650 Enthusiast
Reaction score
Hi, my name is Kustas, and I'm a XS650 noob. I am reassembling a '79 XS, which my brother took apart.

The problem:

After changing the diaphragms and float bowl gaskets and reassembling the carburetor (Mikuni BS34), I noticed that the original fuel line T was leaking fuel on one side where it entered the carburetor. I decided to order a new T from MikesXS named 'Brass Carb Fuel Line T-Piece'.

This is what it looks like:

WP_20140530_003_zpsc676f23c.jpg

The question:

How do you install the new T? As the original piece did not have any O-rings, I decided to try and install the new piece also without the O-rings that came with the new T. Well, I had no luck, since it started leaking right away from where the T enters the carburetor. So I decided to install the new T with the O-rings. I pushed the O-rings inside the carburetor holes first, and then pushed the T in between the carburetors (and O-rings). This is where I started to get confused, because now with the O-rings in the way, I guess the T did not slip into place properly. Not only did the new O-rings make the carburetors sit a bit too wide (away from each other, so I had trouble putting back the brackets), both sides of the T, where they entered the carbs started leaking.

I installed it like this:

WP_20140530_002_zps797a5427.jpg

WP_20140530_006_zps788603bf.jpg

Comparison to the original piece

WP_20140530_004_zps40faa7e5.jpg

Is there some kind of sealant available that I can use to stop the leaking, or am I doing it all wrong? I don't have any experience with this type of work, nor do I have anybody to turn to either. Hope somebody here can give me advice on how to fix this old girl.

Thank you

The trick to installing any of these is to clamp the carbs together against the "T", just tight enough so the "T" can't be rotated by hand, then install and tighten the brackets .....

Fuel-T-Install.jpg