It just quite, no spark

yghp

XS650 Enthusiast
Reaction score
I have a 79 650 special. It just died, It smelled like something was hot or burnt but I couldn't pin point what. After pushing it 1/4 mile home the smell wasn't as strong. It has no spark on either side. The fuses are good, the battery is charged, no pinched wires. Does anybody have any ideas. I am not good with an ohm meter.

It could be the coils. Just age can hurt them.
Do you have a repair manual? If so just follow the steps in it to check coil ohms. Primary ohms use the 200 ohm scale secondary use the 20k scale.
Leo

There are no hidden fuses. You need to use a VOM or test light to measure where you are losing voltage. Power flows from the battery to the main fuse, and then on to the ignition switch, the ignition fuse and the kill switch.

Those original fuse holders cause lots of problems, and they will heat up when they make poor contact with the fuse.

Fuses, no hidden ones. I think yours has the four fuse box under the seat. It could be that. Often after 30 plus years the clips that hold the fuses in place get weak and don't make good contact.
On the coils not normally but it can happen.
I might suggest you remove the tank and start by looking at the wiring. On my first 75 back in the day the ground wire for the turn signal flasher burnt up and melted the wires together in the bundle. It also happened on the 75 I have now. I think when the turn signal flasher goes bad it sends power through the ground, getting it hot enough to melt the adjoining wires before it burns completely.
I might also suggest you start at one end of the bike and work toward the other checking every electrical connection on the harness for clean and tight. A bit of dialectric grease will help keep them clean.
Your repair manual has testing procedures for many of the electrical components.
As far as useing your test meter you can google instructions on how to use it. Many good vidieo's out there explaining this.
Leo