Just got a XS650. HELP!!

suthpaw22

XS650 Addict
Reaction score
Hey everyone,

I just got my 78 XS650 the other day off craigslist. I'm really excited about it. I am taking a motorcycle tech class, but I am no expert by no means. I regestered on here earlier this evening and wrote a LONG message about myself and this bike, but when I went to submit I had forgotten that shortly after I regesterd my computer acted up and I wasn't logged in when I wrote the book and lost it all. Needless to say I am not as inclined to give such an intro this times. Anyway, here is a pic of it. I wanted a project bike and thats what I got, but it is virtually complete already.

78 XS650.jpg

Yeah. lol.

From looking it over this is what I see the bike needs so far. Carbs, right and left side petcocks, a gas cap, and a speedometer. Any suggestions on where I could get these at a good price?

Also, whats the difference in the brands of carbs? I've seen the most on mikuni 34's but heared 38's are better.

- well, theres a can of worms...you will get people that swear this or that are the best...basically the most commonly used are the
original Mikuni CV carbs BS34 or 38​
mikuni TM flatslide​
mikuni VM roundslide​
dell'ortos​

- for some good background and specific info check this thread out

- also some basic info here and here

- happy reading :D

- someone here may have a set of CV carbs that you could use to learn on, theyre actually pretty good carbs and the jetting will be more or less in the ballpark...could try putting a wanted ad in the classifieds

Thank you both. I'm actually watching those 38's on eBay and have checked out mikesxs. I want to just jump and buy these

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/e...0438494629&viewitem=&sspagename=STRK:MEWAX:IT