Need Help ASAP!

Kansas650

XS650 Member
Reaction score
Hi, i'm a new member to the forums. I'm glad I found a reliable site that I can go to with questions and for help. I purchased a 1973 TX650 Cafe here locally and ran into a problem today. Rode it 5 blocks, turned it off for no more than 10 minutes and lost all electrical. Talked to a cafe buddy here and he thinks it could be my main fuse. I have no experience with these bikes and cannot locate the fuse. A picture or some other great illustration would be very helpful. From what I've read so far here, it seems like I need to switch the fuse out to a blade. Any help is greatly appreciated. I look forward to the future on the forums.

Thanks, Derik.

Derik -

If it's a '73 with the fuse in the stock location, it should be a single 20-amp in-line fuse somewhere to around the battery box on the left side of the bike, though it's possible it could have been relocated. Does your bike still have the sidecovers? Look behind the left one. If it isn't a blade-type, change to one.

That said, you need to discover why it blew. A dead short somewhere is a possibility, but it's hard to say without knowing more about your bike in its current trim. There is lots of electrical expertise on here, of which I am admittedly not a part. :er:

I also own one of the few stock/near-stock '73s here. Welcome to the board.

TC

Attachments

• 100_1047.jpg
    100_1047.jpg
    124.5 KB · Views: 99
TeeCat- NEAR STOCK??? You are real funny guy, but sounds like you gave good advice.