Need some Noob help PAMCO IG.. If any of you pros could lend some insite..

rustrocket650

XS650 Member
Reaction score
hey everyone, first just wanted to say hi. Im new here and im afraid im a bit of a noob when it comes to the xs650. I found your site while researching awhile back and have been reading ever since. You all have indirectly answered so many questions for me! so already i must say thanks. I finally decided i guess i better post and say hi....

which leads to me my problem... Im sure you guys may have answered some of these questions already but i cant seem to find anything about my issues or atleast anything i understand. so First off.. I have a 79xs all stock motor. I just installed a pamco ignition. All went fine and starts right up. Maybe i can get pamco pete to chime in here somewhere. When i go to time my bike, i know my timing mark needs to be between the "F" marks. I can accomplish this but not with out wedging cardboard between the weights to keep them from opening, Also the only way i can get to the F is if i rotate my plate ALLLL the way counterclockwise and retard the timing to max. No more room for adjustment. Im wondering if i did somthing wrong because this just dosent seem right to me.

Now as for the bike running well heres the other issue.. ITs a dog. when you go to accel. on the throttle it just wants to fall on its face, but you can slowly roll on the throttle to bring up rpms and it sounds just fine. When you roll off the throttle though big backfire out of the right pipe and shoots a huge ball of blue smoke and oil. Only out of the right side though. Now i expect a bit of popping as i dont have any baffles and just my shorty cutoffs on decel. This puff of smoke is what is killing me though.

As i said i am a noob to this stuff so its entirely possible i made a noob mistake, so Please if any one can break some of what maybe the problem down to me, like even in crayola or finger paints i would appreciate it more then you know..