Nervous about brakes...

52Chevy

XS650 Addict
Reaction score
My rear brake seems fine although I do plan on looking at it a bit closer I do not want it to go out on me. It is my front brake that I worry about. The pain is gone on the fender underneath one of the brake lines. So for the time being I have no front brake. I am new to brake work other than changing pads and very uneasy about what I should do. When it comes to stopping you can never be too careful.

I know I can rebuild or replace. I have looked into both a little bit on ebay and Mikes, not sure which would be the better route, especially without looking further into what I have. I have searched through some old threads and still have these questions.

So I guess my question is this, how hard is it to rebuild brake calipers?
What are the chances of me messing up so bad my brakes fail suddenly?
How do I determine whether I need a new master cylinder and or rebuild?
Ditto for a calilper?

So I guess my question is this, how hard is it to rebuild brake calipers?

Not hard. Get online manuals here. http://www.biker.net/650_service/650service main.html
What are the chances of me messing up so bad my brakes fail suddenly?
Almost none, as long as you make sure they work properly before you go riding after maintenance.

How do I determine whether I need a new master cylinder and or rebuild?
Take them apart. See manuals above. If the parts are corroded and pitted, they need to be replaced, if not re-seal them. Do both of them, and replace your hoses. It's a 32 year old bike and probably has 32 year old hoses.

Ditto for a calilper? See above.

Thank you, I kind of figured that, but was very unsure.

I have read about stainless caliper pistons, are the advantages really that drastic?

These (XS650) brakes aren't difficult to rebuild; they have relatively few parts, are straightforward in design, and all the relevant rebuild parts are available.